Mt Portal Lookout

On Sunday 17th January I went on my first bushwalk since finally being cleared to do so from my Physiotherapist.

I decided to go and do a walk that I hadn’t done before, a walk that wouldn’t be too difficult or demanding either, as I want to ease back into it. Another reason being, I was with my pregnant wife, so I didn’t want to push her too hard either.

Mt Portal Lookout

Mt Portal Lookout

We parked up at the bottom of the hill which is about 2km from Mt Portal Lookout. The hill only lasted about 400m but it was quite steep (an incline of about 70m). At the top of the hill, it was pretty much smooth sailing.

It was really great just being out in the bush. The walk both to and from Mt Portal Lookout was rather uneventful, but it was just brilliant being out in the bush again.

M4 Bridge over the Nepean River from Mt Portal Lookout

M4 Bridge over the Nepean River from Mt Portal Lookout

The view at Mt Portal Lookout, overlooking the Nepean River was spectacular. Unfortunately it was the middle of the day and the lighting for photo taking wasn’t great, but still took a few snaps.

On our way back to the car, we took a short detour to Tunnel View Lookout. Here was another great view overlooking Glenbrook Gorge. To the West there were mountain tops as far as the eye can see, and facing North looking down, you could see Glenbrook Creek.

View West of Tunnel View Lookout

View West of Tunnel View Lookout

After taking some more pics and enjoying the view, we headed back to the car. We ended our little adventure there, despite the fact that I would’ve like to have continued for few more hours. I guess it just means that there will be more to explore the next time I go back there.DSC_0288 as Smart Object-1-2

This entry was posted in Blog, My Adventures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment